What Is an Ayurvedic Diet?

Ayurveda is the name of the traditional medicine of India. This millenarian system attributes characteristics to three categories called doshas, which form the base of the Ayurvedic diet.

Ayurvedic Nutrition Principles

Ayurveda is a path to a healthy lifestyle. It is designed to satisfy and compensate the needs of three types present in various combinations: Vata, Pitta, and Kapha.

Based on the belief that there are no magic recipes that work for everyone, Ayurveda guides each towards the construction of a lifestyle and nutrition that encompasses their particular biochemical needs.

Ayurveda Doshas


Vata regulates body movement, waste elimination, and thought. As such, vata is considered the leader of the three doshas, so it’s essential to keep it balanced. Representatives of Vata are usually thin and agile; typically have dry skin, cold hands and cold feet.

Without healthy eating habits, they tend to have problems with anemia, constipation, weight loss, hypertension, arthritis and general weakness.


Pitta represents the union of fire and water. They are of moderate height and weight. Skin with a tendency to develop spots, redness and other dermatological and hair affections, like baldness.

Bright eyes, warm body temperature, they make their lovers go crazy using the heat of the fire that moves them in each action. Their digestion is very aggressive; therefore they are prone to ulcers, bile problems, indigestion, etc.


It represents the union of water and earth. Stable as its components, its exponents demonstrate a slow and cumbersome body structure. With a tendency to gain weight, they can develop diabetes problems and overweight.

Emotionally they establish lasting and satisfactory bonds when they are in the balance. Otherwise, they tend to depression and isolation.

In each person, the three doshas are presented, with one or two predominating, although in an ideal sense the three doshas should perform in equal proportions.

To follow an Ayurvedic Diet, an Ayurvedic Clinical Specialist evaluates your digestive, nervous and endocrine system, to design a specific diet according to the needs and structure of each a patient.

Ayurvedic diet for each dosha


Choose Cooked cereals, butter, dairy products, nuts, cooked vegetables. Reduce the intake of raw salads, fruits, beans


Prefer raw salads, cooked cereals, milk, seeds. Cut Downs on spicy foods, acidic foods, fried foods, fermented foods such as yogurt and vinegar.


Choose Salads, cooked vegetables, spicy foods, quinoa, millet, cornmeal, and buckwheat. Reduce the intake of dairy, meat, cheese, nuts, wheat, and rice

Everything You Need to Know About Nuts

Stay Away from These Foods If You Want to Get in Shape!